skip_previous play_arrow skip_next
00:00 00:00
  • cover play_arrow

    Cree Nation Radio 103.5 FM Cree Nation Radio 103.5 FM

Community News

Fisher River’s Verna J. Kirkness named in Manitoba 150 Women Trailblazers

todayFebruary 3, 2021 338 2

share close

Fisher River’s own Verna J. Kirkness was the recipient as one of The 150 Manitoba Women Trailblazer’s.

In partnership with the Winnipeg Free Press, the Nellie McClung Foundation is proud to introduce the 150 Manitoba Women Trailblazer Awards, an opportunity to salute the contributions that Manitoba woman have made to social justice, arts, sports, politics, community activities and promoting democracy while developing this great province.

These Trailblazer Awards will honour Nellie McClung’s vision by recognizing the spirit of her life’s work being advanced by women leaders of today or throughout Manitoba’s history. 



  • Verna J. Kirkness, C.M., O.M.
  • Adele Wiseman
  • Agnès Roy (née Gosselin)
  • Angelique and Marguerite Nolin
  • Ann Callahan
  • Anne Bannatyne
  • Anne Ross, C.M.
  • Barbara Bruce, O.M.
  • Beatrice Watson
  • Bernadette Smith, O.M., MLA
  • Bonnie Korzeniowski
  • Carol Peloquin, snjm
  • Carol Shields, C.C., O.M., F.R.S.C.
  • Catherine (Kate) McPherson
  • Catherine Mulaire
  • Chief Betsy Kennedy, O.M.
  • Chriss Tetlock (Clarissa May Joyce Tetlock)
  • Christine (Chris) Burrows
  • Clara Hughes, O.C., O.M., M.S.C., OLY
  • Connie Eyolfson
  • Connie Magnusson Schimnowski
  • Corrine Joan Scott, O.M., M.B.A.
  • Daphne Odjig, C.M., O.B.C.
  • Dayna Spiring, LL.B.
  • Debora Durnin-Richards, PHEc, M.Ed.
  • Delphine Rivard
  • Diane Redsky, O.M.
  • Diane Roussin
  • Doreen Brownstone, O.M.
  • Doris Mae Oulton
  • Dr. Alexandria Wilson, Ed.D.
  • Dr. Charlotte W. Ross, M.D.
  • Dr. Helen Glass O.C., O.M., Ed.D., Hon. LL.D., Hon. D.Sc.
  • Dr. Jennifer Shay, O.C.,Ph.D.
  • Dr. Jessie Lang, LL.D.
  • Dr. June James, O.M., M.D.
  • Dr. June Menzies, C.M., O.M.
  • Dr. Marsha Hanen, C.M., Ph.D.
  • Dr. Mirjana Roksandic, Ph.D.
  • Dr. Noralou P. Roos, O.C., Ph.D.
  • Dr. Rayleen De Luca, C.M., O.M.
  • Dr. Sherry Peden, Ph.D.
  • Dr. Sybil Shack, C.M., LL.D.
  • Dulcie Price
  • E. Cora Hind
  • Edith Hancox
  • Edith Mary McDowell, LL.D.
  • Eira “Babs” Friesen, C.M.
  • Elaine Froese
  • Elba Haid
  • Elder Mae Louise Campbell
  • Elizabeth Parker
  • Erna Kimmel
  • Evelyn Hart, C.C., O.M., F.R.S.C.
  • Florence Edith McTavish Rogers
  • Gabrielle Roy, C.C., F.R.S.C.
  • Gail Asper, O.C., O.M., LL.D.
  • Gertrude Richardson
  • Gudrun Helga Julia Sigurdson
  • Harriet Snetsinger Dick
  • Helen “Ma” Armstrong
  • Helen Granger Young, O.M.
  • Helena F. Reimer, C.M.
  • Honourable Janis Gundrun Johnson, C.M.
  • Honourable Janice Filmon. C.M., O.M.
  • Honourable Judge Kimberly Prost, LL.B.
  • Honourable Myrna Driedger, MLA
  • Honourable Pearl McGonigal, C.M., O.M.
  • Honourable Sharon Carstairs, P.C., C.M.
  • Isabel G. Auld, C.M., LL.D
  • Isabel Ross MacLean Hunt, LL.B
  • Jarita Greyeyes
  • Jean Agnes Hird
  • Jean Folster
  • Jessica Dumas
  • Joan Mary Harland
  • JoAnn MacMorran
  • Judy Wasylycia-Leis
  • Kanaye Connie Matsuo
  • Kate Rice
  • Katherine Friesen
  • Kathleen M. Richardson, C.C., O.M. , LL.D.
  • Kathy Mallett, O.M.
  • Lara Rae
  • Leanne Boyd
  • Lee Newton
  • Lois Edie
  • Margaret McWilliams
  • Margaret Morse, O.M.
  • Margo Goodhand
  • Margret Jonsdottir Benedictsson
  • Marianne Cerilli
  • Marie-Anne Lagimodière (née Gaboury)
  • Martha Jane Hample
  • Mary Dyma
  • Mary Kelekis, O.M.
  • Mary Richard, O.M., M.S.M.
  • Mary Scott
  • Mayor Anna Pazdzierski
  • Mila Rasmussen
  • Muriel Smith, O.C., O.M.
  • Muriel Sprague Richardson
  • Nellie McClung
  • Olive Bend Little
  • Pamela Rebello, O.M.
  • Peggy Green
  • Rachel Massicotte
  • Rita Chahal
  • Ruth Elaine Christie, LL.D.
  • Sadie Mildred Grimm
  • Samantha Rayburn-Trubyk
  • Sandra McCaig
  • Senator Marilou McPhedran, CM,  LL.M., LL.B., LL.D.
  • Senator Patricia Bovey
  • Senator Raymonde Gagné, C.M., O.M.
  • Senator Mary Jane McCallum, D.M.D.
  • Shahina Siddiqui
  • Sheila North
  • Sherri Walsh, LL.B
  • Shirley Kalyniuk
  • Shirley Render
  • Sophie May “Diamond Queen” Ryan
  • Susan A. Thompson, O.M., LL.D.
  • Susan Hart-Kulbaba
  • Tabitha Langel
  • Tannis Mindell
  • Tannis Richardson, C.M., LL.D.
  • Taylor Morriseau
  • The Very Reverend the Hon. Lois M. Wilson, C.C., OOnt
  • Theresa Oswald
  • Tina Jones, O.M.
  • Tina Keeper, O.M., M.S.M, LL.D.
  • Tracy Patterson
  • Wilma Derksen, O.M.


  • Council of Women of Winnipeg Inc.
  • Founding Board of Directors of Women’s Health Clinic – Ellen Kruger, Linda Taylor, Paula Harris, Paula Gardner, Niki Garson, Robert Janz and Dr. C. Yuen
  • Isabel Richard and 11 others who were founders of the Manitoba Speech and Hearing Association
  • Jon Sigurdson Chapter IODE
  • Manitoba Women’s Institute
  • Mentoring Artists for Women’s Art (MAWA)
  • National Council of Jewish Women of Canada (NCJWC)
  • Selma Loewen, Sara Stoesz, Linie Friesen, Susan Giesbrecht and the dozens of women who founded the first Mennonite Central Committee (MCC) Thrift shops
  • The Junior League of Winnipeg
  • The Nellie McClung Foundation (including founding member Bette Mueller)
  • The Partners of Patersons LLP
  • The Shameless Circle
  • University Women’s Club of Winnipeg
  • Winnipeg Raging Grannies
  • Women of the Fur Trade (including Thanadelthur/ Thanadeltth’er)


  • Les Soeurs Du Sauveur
  • Luc d’Antioche, snjm
  • Missionary Oblate Sisters
  • Sisters of Charity (Grey Nuns)
  • Sisters of Misericordia
  • Sisters of Service
  • Sisters of the Holy Names of Jesus and Mary
  • Sisters Servants of Mary Immaculate
  • Sister Agathe Dorge, snjm
  • Sister Angelica Of Mary
  • Sister Geraldine MacNamara, C.M., LL.B.
  • Sister Jean Ell, sgm
  • Sister Leonne Dumesnil, SNJM, C.M.
  • The Institute of the Sisters of Service of Canada

Written by: fisherriver

Rate it

Previous post

External Opportunity

2021 Census – Employment Opportunity

Join the 2021 Census team As an Indigenous community member, you are best suited to collect census data from local inhabitants and verify that all dwellings are counted. Use your local knowledge while sharpening skills that are sought-after by employers. Type of work Census jobs are short-term positions collecting census questionnaires from residents in your community. Job start and end dates vary by position and location, between March and July […]

todayJanuary 27, 2021 25

Post comments (0)

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Fisher River Cree Nation is a community in which our history, language, traditions, and culture are paramount to who we are as a people. We will protect and maintain the spirit and intent of the treaties and our inherent rights. Fisher River will be a self-sustaining progressive community with a strong and accountable government. We will provide an environment where all people are healthy, safe, and respected.